You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website. The vegetables in this section are known as “cool weather crops ". Advertisement. New Hampshire is in USDA plant hardiness zones 3-6. Buy nursery transplants of tomatoes and peppers or start seeds indoors six to eight weeks before the last frost. We had tons of cherry tomatoes. Then, we determine when to sow indoors, transplant, and seed outdoors based on what's best for each vegetable. Using the planting schedules below will help you get the most out of your garden. Reeser Manley holds a Ph.D. in Horticultural Science and has gardened for many years in Massachusetts and Maine, and before that in South Carolina and Washington state. Hi: This is my first time on this forum. One caveat: the plants must be large enough to shade the black plastic when the heat of summer arrives; otherwise the black plastic gets very hot and can burn plants. We'll tell you the earliest dates to plant vegetables in the spring and the last dates that you can plant for a fall harvest, based on average frost dates for your location. Grapes: European grapes won’t tolerate New England’s cold winter, but American grapes, such as Concord, thrive here. This doesn't mean that you'll have nothing to do as there are plenty that can be sown indoors. each zone is augmented by advice on such topics as soil. Black plastic is ideal for growing cucurbits, including summer squash, cucumbers, pumpkins, and melons. When to Plant Vegetables in New England, ND. Use this chart to help plan when to sow seeds or set out seedlings. Many different planting arrangements are used by growers depending on their irrigation, mulching and weed control systems. For some of the vegetables you can plant now, you’ll need to either start with transplants or have started seeds indoors ahead of time, transplanting them into the garden in October with the cooler weather. email; facebook; linkedin; twitter; pinterest; The information below, and in a printable table, wi